Top 5 Desserts I Had In Saudi Arabia

I know what you’re thinking: Saudi Arabia is all that fancy? Damn right, it is. Have you seen the magnificent clock tower? I had the great pleasure of staying there during my last month’s holy vacation. Apart from the great view, I discovered some delicious desserts. I returned a very happy and healthy woman.

Here are the top 5 desserts I had in Saudi Arabia:

1. Om Ali

I had never tasted Om Ali before this. Actually, I had never heard of it. Even though a recipe of it is in one of my favorite Nigella books, I never laid eyes on it. It was that brilliant day in Makkah when we discovered this heavenly dessert. Puff pastry cooked in milk, nuts, coconut and sugar, topped with cream and cheese then baked to a light gold, this dessert is to die for. (I forgot to take a picture, that is how good it was. Image Courtesy: tastespace.wordpress.com)

2. Baklava

This has to be the most popular Arab dessert ever. I mean, EVER. These are extremely soft on the inside and crisp on the outside at the same time so light and delicious. They melt in your mouth. I could finish an entire plate of it in one sitting. I heart baklava, I do.

3. Strawberry / Raspberry Cheesecake

I tried cheese cake in every flavor that you can imagine but the only ones that really stood out were raspberry and strawberry. Sweet, tang and the perfect amount of cream cheese, I looked forward to having a slice of it everyday.

4. Pineapple Cream Cake

I found this is Madina as well. So light and moist, it was another dessert to die for. Don’t imagine the local pineapple cream cakes, this is on the 7th heaven compared to that.

5. Zalabyah

This Egyptian dessert is like a Jalebi in the shape of a ball; quite literally. Deep fried and then dipped in hot sugar syrup, it reminded me of home.

That’s it. For pictures and info on the desserts I had in Saudi Arabia (including carrot cakes), visit my Facebook page. Thank you reading! Don’t forget to leave me a comment below.

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Desserts I Had In Saudi Arabia

Leave a Reply

