Paisley Cake

Ever since I discovered these Food Writer Markers, I have been wanting to bake myself a fondant cake so I could draw on it. I eventually did and well . . here’s the finished product.

Paisley Cake with Edible Food Markers

This was my first fondant cake. Not too shabby, right? Want to make this Paisley Cake? You will need:

17

 

5

For the Cake: 

226 gm butter, softened
2 cups plain flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 cup fine sugar
5 eggs
2 tsp vanila essence 
a pinch of salt

2 cups of Swiss Meringue Buttercream
450 gms of Ready-to-Roll Fondant
10 shades of Wilton Edible Color Markers

1. Line 2 round 8×2 cake pans and pre-heat oven to 180 C
2. For the cake, cream butter and sugar together, mix in vanilla essence and the 5 eggs, one at a time.
3. In a separate bowl, sift flour, baking powder and salt. Mix into the egg batter.
4. Pour equally into both the lined cake pans and bake in the oven for 30 mins or until light golden on top. Allow to cool completely before flippng them over.

(I mixed food colors in my batter. I was looking for a light purple but my new food colors betrayed me and I have a light grey. Oh well. )

5. Once cool, flip one of the cakes on to your cake dish, the golden side down. Spread 1/3rd of the Swiss Meringue Buttercream on top of the cake and flip the other cake on top.
6. Then generously cover the entire cake with rest of the butter cream. Refrigerate for an hour.
7. Roll the fondant to a 14 inch circle about 1/4 inch thick and cover your cake, making sure not to lock in any air bubbles. Smooth with your palm, and cut off any extra fondant. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours before drawing on with the markers. While drawing if the fodant starts to soften, pop it back in the fridge for another 20 mins.

The good thing about this cake is that you can draw whatever you like. Next time, there’s a birthday, I will put the white fondant cake in front of all the guests to sign with personal messages. How cool? I am now going to make a Truck Art inspired cake.

11

One thought on “Paisley Cake

Leave a Reply

